Last Digs of the Season!

Attention Razor Clammers: according to a press release from Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife, the last digs and tides of the 2015-2016 season are as follows:

  • May 20, Friday, 6:37 a.m.; -0.3 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • May 21, Saturday, 7:12 a.m.; -0.6 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • May 22, Sunday, 7:47 a.m.; -0.8 feet; Mocrocks

Our friends at Department of Health came back with marine toxin tests that showed the clams on those beaches are safe to eat. No digging will be allowed at either beach after noon.

Don’t forget your license! See you on the beach!

 

May Dig’s Approved by WDFW, Other Digs Proposed

According to a press release (found here) Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife shellfish managers have added four days of razor clam digging at Mocrocks to a previously scheduled opening at Long Beach to offer a full week of digging starting May 6.

As always, the digs were approved after marine toxin tests required by the Department of Health showed the clams on the proposed beaches were safe to eat.

WDFW conducted evaluations that showed the harvest levels indicating there were still clams to dig on the open beaches.

The upcoming dig is scheduled on the following dates, beaches, and low tides:

  • May 6, Friday, 6:51 a.m.; -1.5 feet; Long Beach
  • May 7, Saturday, 7:39 a.m.; -2.0 feet; Long Beach
  • May 8, Sunday, 8:26 a.m.; -2.1 feet; Long Beach
  • May 9, Monday, 9:14 a.m.; -1.9 feet; Mocrocks
  • May 10, Tuesday, 10:03 a.m.; -1.5 feet; Mocrocks
  • May 11, Wednesday, 10:55 a.m.; -0.9 feet; Mocrocks
  • May 12, Thursday, 11:49 a.m.; -0.3 feet; Mocrocks

Remember, digging is not allowed on any beach after noon with the exception of Mocrocks on May 12, when digging will be allowed for an extra hour, until 1 p.m., due to the later low tide.

Late May Digs Proposed

WDFW is also proposing three days of digging at Mocrocks and two days at Copalis later in the month. These will be the last digs on those two beaches for the season. The department will announce whether the digs can proceed, pending the results of marine toxin tests, about a week before the digs are scheduled to start.

Below is a list of proposed digs, along with low tides and beaches:

  • May 20, Friday, 6:37 a.m.; -0.3 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • May 21, Saturday, 7:12 a.m.; -0.6 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • May 22, Sunday, 7:47 a.m.; -0.8 feet; Mocrocks

Happy Earth Day Razor Clammers!

Today is Earth Day. Celebrate by digging some razor clams throughout the weekend. Also, sign up for Coast Saver activities here to do your part in keeping important coastal habitat clean.

Weekend dig dates are below. Remember to follow all the guidelines for legal and ethical razor clamming.

  • April 22, Friday, 7:35 a.m.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach
  • April 23, Saturday, 8:08 a.m.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Mocrocks
  • April 24, Sunday, 8:42 a.m.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach

 

April Digs Approved, May Digs Proposed

Good news razor clammers! According to a press release from the Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW), dig dates for the rest of April have been approved and dates for digging in May have been proposed.

The upcoming dig is scheduled on the following dates, beaches, and low tides:

  • April 20, Wednesday, 6:25 a.m.; 0.6 feet; Long Beach
  • April 21, Thursday, 7:01 a.m.; 0.2 feet; Long Beach
  • April 22, Friday, 7:35 a.m.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach
  • April 23, Saturday, 8:08 a.m.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Mocrocks
  • April 24, Sunday, 8:42 a.m.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach
  • April 25, Monday, 9:18 a.m.; -0.2 feet; Long Beach, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • April 26, Tuesday, 9:56 a.m.; -0.1 feet; Long Beach, Mocrocks, Copalis
  • April 27, Wednesday, 10:39 a.m.; 0.1 feet; Long Beach
  • April 28, Thursday, 11:28 a.m.; 0.3 feet; Long Beach

Tentative razor clam dates in May 2016

Meanwhile, WDFW has also proposed additional digs in May, pending the results of future marine toxin tests:

  • May 6, Friday, 6:51 a.m.; -1.5 feet; Long Beach
  • May 7, Saturday, 7:39 a.m.; -2.0 feet; Long Beach
  • May 8, Sunday, 8:26 a.m.; -2.1 feet; Long Beach

April Dig Dates Approved, Long Beach Razor Clam Festival This Weekend

According to a press release found here, WDFW has approved dig dates for April. A list of those dates and tides appears below.

Also, the new license year began on April 1, so be sure to pick up a new razor clam tag before heading out to the beach.

April 9 & 10 is also the Long Beach Razor Clam Festival.  Excellent low morning tides coincide with this annual razor clam festival and weather forecasts look very good.

If you head to Long Beach during the festival, be sure to stop by the Razor Clam Society information booth to talk about razor clamming, share stories, and pick up a Razor Clam Society decal.

The upcoming dig is scheduled on the following dates, beaches, and low tides:

  • April 3, Sunday, 4:13 p.m.; 0.5 feet; Long Beach
  • April 4, Monday, 5:04 p.m.; 0.1 feet; Long Beach
  • April 5, Tuesday, 5:51 p.m.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach
  • April 6, Wednesday, 6:36 p.m.; 0.0 feet; Long Beach
  • April 7, Thursday, 7:07 a.m.; -0.6 feet; Long Beach, Copalis, Mocrocks
  • April 8, Friday, 7:54 a.m.; -1.1 feet; Long Beach, Copalis, Mocrocks
  • April 9, Saturday, 8:42 a.m.; -1.3 feet; Long Beach, Copalis
  • April 10, Sunday, 9:32 a.m.; -1.2 feet; Long Beach, Mocrocks
  • April 11, Monday, 10:23 a.m.; -0.9 feet; Long Beach
  • April 12, Tuesday, 11:19 a.m.; -0.4 feet; Long Beach

See you on the beach!