Ocean Shores Razor Clam Festival & Seafood Extravaganza: March 18, 19, 20

Come join the Razor Clam Society for the 10th Annual Ocean Shores Razor Clam Festival & Seafood Extravaganza, March 18-20 in Ocean Shores, WA. More information can be found here  with a list of the activities and events taking place over those three days.

Proposed razor clam digs are planned to coincide with the festival dates. The proposed dig dates and tide times are below:

  • March 18, Friday, 4:15 p.m.; 0.7 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • March 19, Saturday, 5:07 p.m.; 0.5 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • March 20, Sunday, 5:50 p.m.; 0.4 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis

As soon as these dig dates and beaches are confirmed, we will publish another post. As always, the official information can be viewed at WDFW’s Razor Clam Page.

IMG_3324

29th Annual Beachcombers’ Fun Fair: March 5&6

BFF Image

Come join beachcombers & other coastal enthusiasts March 5 & 6 for the 29th Annual Beachcombers’ Fun Fair. Razor Clam Society will have an information booth at the event. The event also features many exciting competition displays of beach art, vendor booths, informational booths, seminars, and speaker presentations.

The event coincides with some good razor clam digging just north on Mocrocks beach.

  • March 5, Saturday, 3:53 p.m.; 0.3 feet; Mocrocks
  • March 6, Sunday, 4:40 p.m.; -0.2 feet; Mocrocks

So, in between attending the Beachcombers’ Fun Fair, meet up with fellow razor clam enthusiasts and bag your limit!

Mocrocks Digs Back on the Calendar, Long Beach Digs Continued to March 31, Proposed Digs Announced

IMG_3264
Three Generations of Razor Clammers Enjoy the Beautiful Weather at Ocean Shores, Copalis Beach- February 20, 2016

According to a press release found here, State shellfish managers have approved a four-day razor clam dig at Mocrocks and have extended an opening at Long Beach through March 31. They also released a list of proposed digs later in March on two ocean beaches.

The upcoming dig at Mocrocks is scheduled on the following dates and evening low tides:

  • March 5, Saturday, 3:53 p.m.; 0.3 feet; Mocrocks
  • March 6, Sunday, 4:40 p.m.; -0.2 feet; Mocrocks
  • March 7, Monday, 5:23 p.m.; -0.5 feet; Mocrocks
  • March 8, Tuesday, 6:05 p.m.; -0.6 feet; Mocrocks

Long Beach will be open on evening tides March 1-10 and March 15-23 and will be open on morning tides March 11-14 and March 24-31. A full list of low tides in March is posted here.

Below is the list of proposed razor clam digs, along with low tides and beaches:

Evening low tides

  • March 18, Friday, 4:15 p.m.; 0.7 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • March 19, Saturday, 5:07 p.m.; 0.5 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis
  • March 20, Sunday, 5:50 p.m.; 0.4 feet; Mocrocks, Copalis

Morning low tides

  • March 25, Friday, 8:31 a.m.; 0.7 feet; Mocrocks
  • March 26, Saturday, 9:06 a.m.; 0.6 feet; Mocrocks
  • March 27, Sunday, 9:42 a.m.; 0.7 feet; Mocrocks

Mocrocks & Copalis Digs Confirmed

According to a Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife press release, Mocrocks and Copalis are open for digging! and the dig days will continue on Long Beach.

The upcoming dig at is scheduled on the following dates, beaches and low tides:

  • Feb. 19, Friday, 4:33 p.m.; 0.0 feet, Copalis, Mocrocks, Long Beach
  • Feb. 20, Saturday, 5:17 p.m.; -0.1 feet, Copalis, Mocrocks, Long Beach
  • Feb. 21, Sunday, 5:56 p.m.; -0.2 feet, Mocrocks, Long Beach

Full list of Long Beach tides and digs found here.

We will see you on the beach razor clammers! Be safe, respect the environment and shared habitat, and watch out for rouge waves.

Officially Official: 501(c)(3) Status Obtained

The Razor Clam Society is now officially designated as a 501(c)(3) charitable organization. To celebrate this exciting news, we are launching a member and fund drive. Please visit our website https://razorclamsociety.org/donate/  to donate, become a member, and support our activities.

And, Spring feels like it’s coming quickly here in the Northwest and there are so many exciting events coming up. So put these dates in your calendar:

March 5 & 6: Beachcombers’ Fun Fair, Ocean Shores, WA

March 12 & 13; Penn Cove MusselFest, Coupeville, WA

March 18,19 & 20; Ocean Shores Razor Clam Festival, Ocean Shores, WA

April 9 & 10: Long Beach Razor Clam Festival, Long Beach, WA

May 7: Hama Hama Oyster Rama, Hama Hama, WA

And don’t forget, your contribution to the Razor Clam Society is now tax deductible.

IMG_1417

 

Copalis Scheduled for Two Day Dig & Month Long Dig Dates Published for Long Beach

According to a press release found here, State shellfish managers have proposed two days of razor clam digging in February at Copalis beach in addition to approving a month-long opening at Long Beach scheduled Feb. 4 through March 10.

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) has tentatively scheduled a dig on evening tides for Feb. 19 and 20 at Copalis, provided that marine toxin tests show the clams are safe to eat. WDFW will announce final word on the dig about a week before it is scheduled to begin.

The upcoming dig at Copalis is tentatively scheduled on the following dates, pending favorable marine toxin results:

  • Feb. 19, Friday, 4:33 p.m.; 0.0 feet, Copalis
  • Feb. 20, Saturday, 5:17 p.m.; -0.1 feet, Copalis

Long Beach is open to razor clam digging on evening tides from Feb. 4 through March 10. For optimal digging conditions, state shellfish managers suggest digging on days when the low tide is 1 foot or lower. No digging allowed before noon on any day.

•Feb. 4, Thursday, 3:41 p.m.; 0.8 feet

•Feb. 5, Friday, 4:28 p.m.; 0.2 feet

•Feb. 6, Saturday, 5:11 p.m.; -0.3 feet

•Feb. 7, Sunday, 5:52 p.m.; -0.7 feet

•Feb. 8, Monday, 6:32 p.m.; -1.0 feet

•Feb. 9, Tuesday, 7:12 p.m.; -0.9 feet

•Feb. 10, Wednesday, 7:52 p.m.; -0.7 feet

•Feb. 11, Thursday, 8:34 p.m.; -0.1 feet

•Feb. 12, Friday, 9:17 p.m.; 0.6 feet

•Feb. 13, Saturday, 10:04 p.m.; 1.4 feet

•Feb. 14, Sunday, 10:58 p.m.; 2.2 feet

•Feb. 15, Monday, 12:16 p.m.; 1.1 feet

•Feb. 16, Tuesday, 1:30 p.m.; 1.0 feet

•Feb. 17, Wednesday, 2:40 p.m.; 0.7 feet

•Feb. 18, Thursday, 3:41 p.m.; 0.3 feet

•Feb. 19, Friday, 4:33 p.m.; 0.0 feet

•Feb. 20, Saturday, 5:17 p.m.; -0.1 feet

•Feb. 21, Sunday, 5:56 p.m.; -0.2 feet

•Feb. 22, Monday, 6:31 p.m.; -0.1 feet

•Feb. 23, Tuesday, 7:04 p.m.; 0.1 feet

•Feb. 24, Wednesday, 7:35 p.m.; 0.5 feet

•Feb. 25, Thursday, 8:06 p.m.; 0.9 feet

•Feb. 26, Friday, 8:37 p.m.; 1.4 feet

•Feb. 27, Saturday, 9:09 p.m.; 2.0 feet

•Feb. 28, Sunday, 9:44 p.m.; 2.4 feet

•Feb. 29, Monday, 10:26 p.m.; 2.5 feet

•Mar. 01, Tuesday, 11:20 p.m.; 3.5 feet

•Mar. 02, Wednesday, 12:51 p.m.; 1.8 feet

•Mar. 03, Thursday, 1:59 p.m.; 1.4 feet

•Mar. 04, Friday, 3:00 p.m.; 0.9 feet

•Mar. 05, Saturday, 3:53 p.m.; 0.3 feet

•Mar. 06, Sunday, 4:40 p.m.; -0.2 feet

•Mar. 07, Monday, 5:23 p.m.; -0.5 feet

•Mar. 08, Tuesday, 6:05 p.m.; -0.6 feet

•Mar. 09, Wednesday, 6:47 p.m.; -0.5 feet

•Mar. 10, Thursday, 7:28 p.m.; -0.2 feet

The Big Dig: Month Long Dig Dates Announced

The Washington Department of Fish and Wildlife (WDFW) has just approved new razor clam dig dates that will run from Feb. 4 through March 10, at Long Beach after marine toxin tests showed the clams are safe to eat. The full press release from the WDFW can be found here.

Dates and tide times for the first week are below. Let’s dig!

  • Feb. 4, Thursday, 3:41 p.m.; 0.8 feet, Long Beach,
  • Feb. 5, Friday, 4:28 p.m.; 0.2 feet, Long Beach
  • Feb. 6, Saturday, 5:11 p.m.; -0.3 feet, Long Beach
  • Feb. 7, Sunday, 5:52 p.m.; -0.7 feet, Long Beach
  • Feb. 8, Monday, 6:32 p.m.; -1.0 feet, Long Beach
  • Feb. 9, Tuesday, 7:12 p.m.; -0.9 feet, Long Beach
  • Feb. 10, Wednesday, 7:52 p.m.; -0.7 feet, Long Beach

IMG_1464

WDFW also notes that for tidal information at Long Beach beginning Feb. 11, diggers should check the tide charts listed on the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration’s webpage.